Poodle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for a red poodle pup and saw this one. I am new to poodles and was wondering if this puppies tail is to short. Or is it just an undocked tail of a puppy? I have read some stuff about people cutting tails to short and want to make sure I am getting from a worthy breeder with proper care/cut. Thanks for any help.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,650 Posts
Well best to wait on other replies but it looks short to me.
The AKC standard calls out for the tip of the tail, when erect, to be at the same height as the top of the dog's head. Generally speaking, 1/4 to 1/3 of the end of the tail is cut off

There are some threads on here as to how to identify a reputable breeder. Be sure the sire and dam have had genetic health testing .

·
Registered
6,926 Posts
It looks short to me too and good breeders usually take pictures of their puppies (for future owners) after a face, feet and tail groom. Not sure about this pup’s conformation either, but I’m no expert.

He doesn’t look stacked properly either, which means she probably doesn’t show her dogs. Does she do all the usual health tests ? Do agility or any sports ?

·
Registered
1,569 Posts
I agree that this looks short, but not the tiny nubs that you see on some poodles. Maybe they took off 1/2 the tail. I agree that most good breeders shave the faces before doing individual pics, but this may be a younger puppy. Do you have other information on the breeder?

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Just from the responses I am moving on. I found the puppy on puppyfinder and was going to investigate further after posting here. I cant find any info on them as a breeder so I am moving on. I will get one from a reputable breeder found here or elsewhere. Thanks for your replies.

·
Registered
6,926 Posts