Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello from Canada!

I am completely new to poodles and have developed a new appreciation for Standard Poodles (and true Moyen/Kleinpudels) after discovering this beautiful dog's working origins, its "natural" unshaved appearance without a hunting or show clip and its amazing personality and intelligence. This is of course with all respect for the clips, the shows and those who love them!

This is definitely a dog that I would love to own if the opportunity presented itself in the future. For now, I'm enjoying learning more about this dog! It's a surprise interest to me, since the Siberian Husky was always my favourite dog.

I enjoy doing my research, so for future reference I have a question if anyone is willing to humour me and my lack of poodle expertise :)

I realize there's a variation in facial features and structure within the bounds of proper conformation for any breed, but I love the more solid-boned poodles I've seen, with a face shape that is more blunt/rounded with wider set eyes, as opposed to long/thin face. It's an overall softer, less angular look that I prefer.

Does anyone know what I mean, and are there reputable breeders you recommend for this overall appearance? I hesitate to say "stocky" because I don't believe true standards should be stocky...

Thanks in advance to all you poodle experts out there!

·
Premium Member
23,582 Posts
Welcome to PF and ultimately answers to all things poodle.

As to your question I am not quite sure what you mean, but wonder if what you are referring to is really about sexual dimorphism of which there is some.

Here is my girl Lily who is on the dainty size. It is also Lily in my siggy pic and avatar.

ready to go home.jpg

And here is my boy Javelin who is I think just a nice looking boy (admittedly in need of a hair cut here though).

Javvy 4th bday 2.jpg

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #3