Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

So I have a deposit down on a litter, due March 10th.

I'd like to hear some encouraging stories from other poodle owners with small kids. I have 2 boys, 1 and 3 years old. I have been considering a dog for about 2 years, but kept delaying the decision partly because of the birth of son #2, and partly because I couldn't find a rescue dog that seemed to fit the criterion I wanted (socialized with young children, good with other dogs in a dog park type situation).

I started looking at doodle crosses, but later discovered that Standard Poodles seemed to have everything I was after in a breed, I fell in love. Turns out my favorite "local to MI poodle breeder" in MI was breeding the dog I liked the most. So I put down a deposit, and let the breeder know I was pretty sure but would possibly move the deposit to anther litter in the future if the time arrived and my kids were just too much.

Half the time I think I'm making an insane decision, but I've also heard some really great stories from people with kids and standard poodles. I'm looking for more encouraging stories!

Additionally, I chose the breeder because she seemed to highly value socialization, which is very high on my priority list. I need a well-socialized puppy more than anything else.

For those who are wondering, I'm planning to take the puppy to classes, and I'm aware that this is a high-supervision situation (dog + kids).

Just want to hear a few encouraging stories, as I appear to be on track for a puppy mid-May!

Thanks!
c.

·
Registered
2,686 Posts
Unless you are a highly organized and structured person with lots of dog experience, I think your children are too young for you to get a puppy at this time. If you are a 1st time dog owner, I think that this is a recipe for disaster.