Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Spoo world so I am learning day by day. This weekend I learned the hard way. I wish I had found this site before my disaster. I am an idiot.
(lesson #1 Google BEFORE you do something stupid, not after)

Zowie is 10 mos old and should have been getting her usual puppy cut but my Dad had a stroke 6 weeks ago and we missed her grooming appt so it's been a total of 4 months since she got her hair did. On top of that her usual brushings were put off to the side during that ordeal. She wasn't in the best of shape I'll admit. Because of all the rain and mud here she has been a mess. The poor thing was getting leg baths numerous times a day with almost no brush outs or drying. Again, she wasn't at her best... I mean my best.
(lesson #2 Poodle hair doesn't care if you're too busy)

I knew she would most likely need to have her lower legs shaved. I accepted that the hair below her ear leather would have to go- my fault for not knowing I needed one of these handy dandy spinning tooth combs to find at skin mats. BUT! Her top knot, back, sides, butt, chest, and tail were good. Sure sure some small mats on her hind but honestly- doable.
(lesson #3 Always brush out your curly horse BEFORE taking her in for a groom so you know EXACTLY where her trouble spots are)