Poodle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm brand new to the poodle thing. We have always had Border Collies but I wanted a standard poodle for some time now and now we have one. Ginger is almost 3 and we've had her since early fall of 2009. She's great but we know nothing about grooming. I'd ideally like her coat to be as natural as possible but she does go to a groomer who has poodles of her own. So I have a bunch of questions since she just had to be clipped right down to get rid of mats and allow her to grow back the same length and start again. So I guess when I look at clips I like the lamb clip best, does she have to be all fluffy like that? Couldn't she be curly like she is once she gets wet? I know those tight curls caused the matting but I hate this all over sheep shearing look even if it is only once in awhile. :smow: How to avoid this again? Even Ginger seems upset that she has no coat left and we try really hard to keep telling her how beautiful she is. I asked the groomer how to stop the mats and she said - don't let her be wet (hard to do in Ontario 3 seasons of the year), groom her every day with a steel tooth comb and every poodle ends up needing a shearing once in a while. Is all that right and how often should she go to the groomer? She's a beautiful girl but right now she looks like a greyhound! All suggestions welcome!

·
Registered
646 Posts
Another cute clip is the bikini/miami/clown clip
It gives her long ears tail and pom poms on her feet so she still looks poodle and most of the body short so it is easier to keep neet and clean.
Less brushing. I do Mandy like that and it is so much quicker just to brush the bit of hair rather then like Casey who has the lamb/town and country and takes forever

·
Registered
184 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So how often do you find you need to clip Mandy and how often do you brush? Also what do you use for brushing??
Thanks so much

·
Registered
235 Posts