Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My puppy is shedding! I know they're not supposed to shed, so whats going on? Is there something wrong with him? He did have a different coat then his litter mates. It was coarse and wirey, and much shorter then the rest. He has papers, so is it possible he is not a pure poodle? Is there some kind of genetic issue that could cause this? He doesn't have bald spots or anything, but after playing on the bed, you can see all these little brown hairs. His skin looks ok, but he does have a few little bumps here and there. They look like skin colored moles I guess. Does anyone know whats wrong? Help!

·
Registered
1,545 Posts
Hmmm...I am no expert by any means. How old is he? Could he be "blowing his coat" and getting his adult coat?

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I guess there is the chance. The dad was a stud. If another dog got in somehow.....it's possible i guess.

·
Registered
5,345 Posts
Yeah, if mom was outside going potty for a bit or whatever, maybe an intact lab was nearby or something and tagged her and you're the only one that got that pup?

·
Registered
4,481 Posts
Is anyone an allergy sufferer? I would be pretty disappointed to have a poodle shedding that much, people purchase poodles in many cases for the low to no shedding. I would contact the breeder.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Well if he is a mix, I'll be disappointed of course, but he is such a wonderful dog that it wouldn't really matter. I worry more that he may have SA. Does anyone know anything about that?

·
Registered
1,905 Posts
I would get him in to see the vet as soon as possible. Only they can tell you for sure what's going on with your dog's skin and hair. Good luck! I hope it's nothing serious.