Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an appointment with a breeder next week. She raises Standard and Moyens. Her website says that Moyens are Standards that she has bred down taking her smallest Standards and breeding them.

First question: Why does the internet show more health issues in a Moyen than a Standard??

Second question: Boy or girl. I have had both over my lifetime and mostly I think females are easier. What say you????? Seems like she has a mostly boys left.

Thank you for your help. I am new to forums so I may suck at posting.

Beverly

·
Registered
6,937 Posts
Hello,

I’m not an expert but Moyens are not small standards. They are a separate size, in Europe (there are 3 poodle sizes in North America and 4 in Europe). You breed a Moyen to a Moyen to get a Moyen, just like you breed a toy to a toy or a standard to a standard. Moyen simply means «*medium*» in French.

She would have to import dogs from Europe to legitimately claim she has Moyens.

So either she doesn’t know much about poodle sizes, or she’s dishonest.

·
Registered
1,271 Posts
Yeah, small spoos do not equal moyens. But a small spoo is a lovely size too.

And no, in my experience, boys are much easier in spoos. I have a very small sample size of one male and one female, though :lol: But I've had both sexes of many breeds over the years and looking back, the girls are much more neurotic, needy, and yet more independent. A boy will be in love with you, just totally devoted. Having said that, I love having one of each.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I will have to go back to her website and verify. Maybe I misunderstood her explanation of the Moyen. Thank you very much for the feedback on male vs. females. Jeez I think I am replying to MaizieFrosty but umm not sure. Still figuring out how to use this forum.

·
Registered
1,600 Posts