Poodle Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all I have dog experience but my previous dogs weren't hight maintenance. Since I have 2 children ages 4 and 7 I wanted to get a poodle due to them good with children.
Since I live in a city in my own house with a small fenced yard I was debating between the mini standard.

Mini I like it because smaller to carry around and going to the groomer would cost less then actually with the standard.

Standard is nice to have and would probably tolerate kids but again take up more space in the car and more money for the groomer.

Minis tend to have less health issues and live longer which i heard.
Also mini bark more then standards?
Standards more tolerable of children then minis?

Any advices.

Thanks

Registered
I have no experience with minis, so I can't tell you what that's like. We have a 7 month old standard puppy and 4 kids. The youngest kids are 8 year old twins who are small for their age. They really couldn't be alone with the puppy until he was about 5 months old because he would jump up or nip them so much if an adult was not there to tell him to stop. He learned very quickly that it was not tolerable with the adults or older kids (who are both well over 5' tall), but the little girls he thought of as playthings, and it took a long time to train that out of him. He's great with them now but still very boisterous - I think he could easily knock a 4 year old over (not on purpose, just while bounding around "zooming"). But otherwise he is so, so good with kids. He loves them, loves being petted, running around, etc. Reading here, I think he is on the chill and friendly end of the poodle spectrum. Our breeder knew we had a big family, so she picked the puppy that did the best with her three kids for us. Which I really appreciate bc he's turned out to be a wonderful dog! Grooming is expensive though - there is SO.MUCH.HAIR!!! 馃槀馃槀

Super Moderator