Poodle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
22,982 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had the good fortune to be able to attend a mental skills workshop with Brenda Riemer, Ph.D. who is a professor of sports psychology and also an OTCh (obedience trial champion) handler. I was one of ten people who had a working spot.

Compared to many of the others who were there I was a relative newbie, but the whole group was very positive and supportive. On Saturday we had a series of talks about aspects of performance psychology and what kinds of thinking can lead to roadblocks to attaining the outcomes we desire. Additionally we did exercises on using imagery to visualize our preparation and performance. One of the useful parts of this was to pay attention to our responses to the images we mentally saw and to see where we get nervous or anxious. For me it is really right at the ring gate when going in for a trial run. To help to let go of anxious energy at any point where it arises we also practiced a number of deep and rhythmic breathing exercises. I found deep breathing to be particularly relaxing.