Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So in the quest for a breeder (an epic at that! :p)
I have come across a few breeders who seem perfect (less pedigrees as I am still learning about that)

Except for one issue which I am very passionate about, I do NOT believe in early spay/neuter and even less in large/giant breed dogs. With these breeders all pups are s/n before they leave, which I think great to help stop pet over population but maybe not in the best interests of their pup's health.

I know this is very controversial but my experiences and research lead me to these beliefs.

Now I feel like I will be for lack of a better word forced to go with a lesser quality breeder for my wants.

Do you think its possible to persuade a breeder for a vasectomy/partial spay instead of a full sterilization? or would I be wasting my time. I plan until roughly 24 months then the proccedure(s/n) will be completed fully.

(did i make sense 0.o i think i confused myself)

·
Registered
1,165 Posts
I think you would be hard pressed to find a breeder willing enough to let an unaltered puppy go or extend the age on which it needs to be done.

Not to start anything but have you ever met a dog who has suffered from early sterilization? I honestly think that whatever dog you choose will be just as healthy being altered at 6 month as it would be at 2 years.

·
Registered
1,498 Posts
In my experienced, I haven't come across any reputable breeders who will let the pups go unfixed until the age of two. I know some Havanese and Maltese breeders that will let you wait until the pup is a year old, but that's about it.

Good luck with your search,

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes, I have actually owned one, he had to be pts at 17 months.

Even one that is partially sterilized?

·
Registered
157 Posts