Poodle Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,001 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I keep hearing about this thing called line brushing. So now that I am starting to grow Evie's hair out, I decided that I should probaly learn how to line brush. What exactly is line brushing, and how do you do it? What type of metal comb do you like?

I would love advice, I am completely new at this.

·
Registered
10,294 Posts
You part a section of hair and take your Slicker brush and brush it well, down to the skin but don't scratch the skin too hard. Then when you think you've gotten any little tangles out you take your comb and brush that same section, all the way down to the skin making sure all your little starts of knots or Tangles are out. Then you take another little section and part that and you do this very systematically so that you get every square inch of your dog, paying special attention to areas that tend to tangle easily, such as behind ears, under the arms actually, legs. So line brushing is just making parts or lines just like you part anybody's hair and taking a section at a time and doing it very systematically so that you don't miss any areas on your dog. To help ensure that you don't break too much hair you can give a very light misting with an atomizer with some water in it, just a little dampness helps hair not break.

Reactions: Asta's Mom

·
Registered
2,799 Posts
As you can see, Zoe is in show coat, so line brushing is the way that long coat is maintained. Here is what I do: