Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
196 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been showing my toy for 6 months now and she wants to drop her tail every time she goes in the ring. She can be happy, tail up right before ringtime, then bamb, as soon as she gets around the other dogs in the ring she drops her tail. I try walking her when we first get to the site and a few minutes before ringtime to familarize her with her surroundings. At the last show this past weekend, I took her back in the ring after the show one day, and she did fine on both stacking and 2 times around the ring, and I can't recall her dropping her tail even one time. This tells me she is intimidated by the unfamilar dogs and people. What can I do to bring her out of this?:rolffleyes:

·
Registered
2,053 Posts
I have been showing my toy for 6 months now and she wants to drop her tail every time she goes in the ring. She can be happy, tail up right before ringtime, then bamb, as soon as she gets around the other dogs in the ring she drops her tail. I try walking her when we first get to the site and a few minutes before ringtime to familarize her with her surroundings. At the last show this past weekend, I took her back in the ring after the show one day, and she did fine on both stacking and 2 times around the ring, and I can't recall her dropping her tail even one time. This tells me she is intimidated by the unfamilar dogs and people. What can I do to bring her out of this?:rolffleyes:
How long ahve you been showing her? Or she can smell the fear in your breath. Even though you dont realize it . I always used cough drops to cover the odor of the Adrenaline, dogs can smell that and it makes them nervous...Time will help...Do you show with a chain? Sometimes the noise of that will bother a dog..

·
Registered
145 Posts