Poodle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Currently I am on the search for a puppy (for companion, not showing) and I understand the importance of health-testing, but I am still fairly new to all of that. As I am reaching out to different breeders to find out if they do health-testing and what they test for, I would like to know what exactly I should be looking for (or not looking for). I have glanced around some at OFA's website to see how information is reported. But for Paw Print Genetics, is it on par with OFA? I've also heard the site Embark thrown around some.

Overall, I am wondering what could be possible red-flags (testing company, missing certain testing, etc.) since many breeders now claim their sires and dams are health-tested on their websites and of the such. Essentially the do's and don'ts for what to be on the look out for health testing results.

Thank you!

·
Registered
1,824 Posts
You are on the right track, and hopefully I can help to make it completely clear. OFA has a basic set of tests recommended for each individual breed based on disease prevalence in that breed. Dogs meeting these basic health screening requirements will be issued Canine Health Information Center (CHIC) numbers. But in order for this to happen, a breeder must send the results of these tests into OFA. OFA approves many different testing labs including Pawprint and Embark. So if a breeder tests for a disease with Pawprint, they must send the results to OFA to be listed under the dog. But Pawprint is a perfectly approved testing lab.

Here are the breed tests recommended for

Miniature poodles
Toy Poodles