Poodle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to spoos... you might have seen some of my other threads and realized just HOW new to poodles I am. Hehe.

I recently told a family friend who breads shnauzers that I was interested in getting a standard poodle. She really tried to discourage me saying that their skin is so thin that when she's had to transfer poos they would lay layers and layers of cushion to avoid some kind of skin issue and the poodles would still arrive with (heat spots? I can't remember).

Is a standard poodle's skin that sensitive? I thought maybe she was just "sold" on her breed and maybe that's why, but while looking at spoo's videos on youtube i noticed a spoo that when the sun caught his coat jsut right you could see shiny patches of skin all over his body, like patches of fur had fallen out? I realize this is only ONE poodle and ONE persons opinion, but thats why I was interested in hearing from REAL poodle owners.

·
Registered
315 Posts
look for a good breeder. Cassie never has had any skin problems and she is out side most of the day as she hates it indoors. She knows how to open doors so she lets her self out. She also likes swimming in the lake alot and I would imagine being exposed to the elements she would have developed this by now.

My guess is your friend is speaking on personal experience not actuall scientific proof.

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
Only one of my poos have had any skin problems (a toy poodle) and that was because she had an allergy problem with something in the grass and it was only confined to the feet and only appeared late in her life. She ended up wearing socks I made for her. All other poos have had no problems.

·
Registered
2,155 Posts
I know only about SA , and it is VERY rare. Buy from a breeder who does testing for that condition. Also, buying a pup from older parents (3 years or more) who are healthy and tested that year would give even more reassurance