Poodle Forum banner

Is my poodle a mini, Klein, or standard? Cream or apricot?

• Total voters
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody. This is my first time posting. I don't know if my poodle is a mini, Klein, or standard? Is he cream or apricot? If you guys can give me your opinions I would appreciate it because there's a lot of contradicting information online. My poodle's name is Louie he's a year-and-a-half old and he's the best dog I've ever had.!
20200118_183428.jpg

·
Registered
739 Posts
How tall is he at the top of his shoulders? That will determine what size he is.
If he is "15 or smaller then he is a mini. 15" through around 21" then a klein. 15" then he is technically a standard. So, in the USA there is no technical registration for a klein at least in the AKC, just standard which is over 15". In Europe they do have kleins-moyens which are small standards-tall miniatures.

About his coloring.
To me he looks like a cream because he has darker markings and is not white but close to it. but I am not sure, so perhaps someone else will post on that with more knowledge.
I hope this helps.

·
Registered
272 Posts
My vote is cream miniature. Creams usually have darker nose. Apricot’s noses fade as they get older. I’m sure their is someone more knowledgeable than me. But, that’s my vote!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Than you very much. He is 17"at the shoulders. The color looks lighter in the picture. He is beige with dark ears, elbows and knees. Thank you for all the info, I appreciate it!

·
Registered
7,269 Posts
Welcome to you and Louie. He looks like a real sweetheart.