Poodle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all!

I'm looking at getting a poodle and have done a ton of research! I'm a poodle newbie but trying to prepare myself to give a new dog a fantastic home. I've tried to research carefully about breeders. I have found one that has a stellar reputation on this site and other places and breeds titled show dogs. I noticed today it appears that earlier this year two of the same lady dogs were bred at the beginning of the year that will be expecting puppies later this year. Should this be cause for concern? I just wanted to check on standard practice in terms of frequency of breeding to make sure I was supporting practices that are most healthy for the dogs.

Thanks!

·
Registered
626 Posts
Hi, and welcome!
It’s usually common practice and recommended for a breeder to give a dam at least a one heat cycle long break before breeding them again. So I suppose it would depend on how long the dog has been between heat cycles. Dogs do come into heat about once every six months, and sometimes every four months for smaller breeds. What variety of Poodle is it, and when did the dogs have their puppies last?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Minis! It looks like the last litter arrived at the end of January and the next one will arrive at the end of August. Everything else I've learned about this breeder definitely checks out, but I wanted to inquire about that detail after I learned it.

·
Registered
1,688 Posts