Poodle Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Mini Vs Standard

Hi all. 馃憢馃徎

My family and I have been patiently awaiting bringing home our sweet girl towards the end of October. We have planned on getting a standard poodle. She will be on the larger side. Our breeder who is very reputable had an opening open up for a mini female. We are very torn now which size to choose and which will be best for our family. Any advice or opinions would be great. A bit about us. . . We have four little ones (13, 4, and twins who are 3). My husband works from home and I stay home with our younger ones so it鈥檚 very rare our new puppy will ever be alone. We don鈥檛 leave much. We own a home, have a fenced-in backyard on a 1/2 acre lot, go on daily walks. We are just torn on which size will be best with our children so any advice is appreciated. :)

Registered
Hello! I'm pretty new to poodles so I don't have any advice, just wanted to welcome you!

Well, except maybe a question, did the breeder temperament test the mini available and think she will be a good match for your family? I think that would be more of a consideration than size alone.

Super Moderator
Hi! Lovely to meet you. :)

Assuming her temperament is a good fit for your family, and she's expected to be a nice sturdy size, I'd probably lean towards the mini.

My reason for this is that adolescent spoos are....a lot. Lol. Adolescent minis, too, but their size makes them much more manageable and less likely to scare or knock over a child. Even I鈥攁 full-grown, relatively mature adult鈥攈ad some real EEK!! moments during Peggy's puppyhood.

Of course, her larger size also means she's more resilient. So if you don't trust your little ones to be gentle, the spoo might be a better fit. But just know that poodles (and baby poodles especially) tend to mirror human energy.

Registered