Poodle Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello everyone. i need help please. i just adopted a 2 year old toy poodle a month ago and i want her to do her business inside the house using a litter box it's been 2 weeks now but still no progress. she really holds her pee and poop for over 12 hours. i set up a litter box inside a play pen. i try not to keep her in the pen for hours except at night time. sometimes i allow her to pee once she's out from the pen just to release some tension in her , then stop her to take her back to the box to continue her business in the box but she does not continue . i am worried that she might develop medical problem due to holding her pee too much. thanks you hopefully someone in her could help me out

·
Registered
19 Posts
Good Morning,

I'm not an expert. So with that I'll give you my opinion. It's quite possible that the dog doesn't want to pee where it sleeps. Perhaps the box should be in another location to give the dog total separation.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Is she used to pee pads? Or going outside? As suggested above, she may not want to go in her bedroom area. If she is used to the outside you can buy a fake grass patch off the Internet for a reasonable price and let her use that. Or if she is pad trained use those underneath and around the litter box for her to get used to the concept.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Good Morning,

I'm not an expert. So with that I'll give you my opinion. It's quite possible that the dog doesn't want to pee where it sleeps. Perhaps the box should be in another location to give the dog total separation.
Thank you John i really appreciate it ill to do that. at the moment i put small cushion to sleep in next to the box.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5