Poodle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,929 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I not really sure where to put this...and I hope I dont sound like a brat.

But last month we started 4H dog training. I've been doing it for 4 years and I LOVED it. The trainers were very strict and we worked on obedience, and trained for the show that was a couple months later. The trainers were very hands on and if you werent doing something correctly they'd tell you right away and help you perfect it. I was in the novice class, so that's why the trainers were kind of strict and there was also another class for the younger beginner kids who's dogs have had no training what so ever. I looked foreward to going everyweek.

This year they decided to change it up and get all new trainers who have no idea what they're doing. We waste 45 mins deciding who goes with what trainer so we can practice for our games. There are 9 trainers (wayyyy to many trainers and it is just hectic) and 29 dogs. The whole hour and a half we're there we play games, not train our dogs. There is little training with our dogs. In the past month the only thing we've taught our dogs to do is sit and down, which my dog already knows, she's been doing this for 4 years! All the other dogs are doing really well and are perfect with their sit and down but the trainers arnt moving on! We play games the entire time, red light green light and simon says EVERY week. Honestly the only reason I go is so Atticus gets socialized with new places, people and dogs. I find it a waste of $20. I appreciate that the trainers are coming out and trying to give us a fun time, and taking time off their night. But I just really wish they had things planned out and used our time wisely. They have everyone in the begining level and there are kids in it who are in my level of training with their dog or higher and I can tell they are frustrated too.