Poodle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,737 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been meaning to ask this question for awhile now. With *heather* posting her question about her blades during a shave down, I figured I shouldn't put it off any longer.

By now, I have been using my #10 blade on my Andis Ultraedge for 9 months. I do FFT (almost) every week. Recently, I got a #30 blade to use with metal combs, so the clippers get more wear.

My scissors are a pretty recent addition and still feel very sharp.

My question is how will I know when I need to sharpen the blades and/or replace the blade drive in my clippers? Last thing I want to do is 'rip' the hair out of my poor baby.

Do you take your blades/shears to a dog show to have them sharpened? How often (I know that depends on how often you use them). It would also be nice to know what you expect to pay for a sharpening.

·
Registered
5,345 Posts
I sharpen my blades when the blade starts not cutting through the hair, but oiling and cleaning it completely allows me to keep using it until I can get it sharpened. I have friends that own three standards, and they've owned their own grooming supplies and groom them themselves every 6-8 weeks. They've owned the same supplies for.. I'm going to say 15+ years? They're ancient! But they've never had to sharpen them. I don't think your blades will need to be sharpened for years, mine are used on multiple dogs a few days a week.

I was suppose to have one of my blades sharpened today =/ my money was in my grooming drawer but the groomer on duty didn't know >(

·
Registered
2,496 Posts
I generally send a 'set' of blades away maybe 2-3 times a year.

Last year I did an average of 25 full groom dogs a week, 50 weeks of the year = 1250 full grooms. Divided by 3 is 416.6 full grooms on a WIDE range of dogs before the blades get sharpened. This is guesstimating somewhat!