Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just received a quote from my vet to neuter my 2 y.o. 6lb toy (it's mandatory in Los Angeles for dogs his age so we don't really have a choice).

They gave me a range (based on the amount of fluids, meds etc. that he'll need during surgery) and I'm pretty sure it's outrageous but I'm new to this stuff--get ready for it:

$590-$760

Is that ridiculous or normal? Knowing that the county does it for something like $60, I was a bit shocked! I don't really want to take him to the county-I don't believe in going to the lowest bidder for my healthcare and I feel the same about him.

If I pay that much at the vet am I getting ripped off?

·
Registered
3,307 Posts
I love my babies dearly but I doubt I would be willing to pay quite that much for a neuter.... Thats just me. My vet I think charged me like 200.00 tops for my smaller dogs? I'm not entirely sure why it would cost more than 700 except that in your area it's required and soooooooo vets have a bit of an advantage there. One more reason I am against this type of legislation.
That said, I understand where you are comming from about not wanting to go to the cheapest place for healthcare. I wonder, is there a vet that you would trust that has prices someplace in between?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Wow Wonderpup- that's hugely cheaper!

I priced out a vet my friend recommended and they seemed cheaper at first, but if you add in the initial exam (since it's a new vet) and the initial blood panels, it comes to about the same anyway. Long-term that vet seems cheaper, but if I change vets right now the cost of switching and initial exams eats up the difference in cost anyway.

Hey los angelinos--have any recommendations?

·
Registered
183 Posts