Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
Benjamin Franlkin - Senior Tpoo, Apple Butter - mpoo puppy
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the purebred dog world. This is my first time buying from a breeder. I've always had whatever mutt showed up with some sob story on my door step, so I never had to worry about genetic testing.

I can't seem to find a checklist or a key of what I want the results of all of these tests to be. Is there a link you have to a site that could explain for me? Or could you maybe make me a cheat sheet? :D

Here is an OFA number for this dog. Is "Good" good or is there also like "Super-dee-duper" or a "Spiffy" rating that is better? I have no idea!

·
Registered
463 Posts
The top level is Excellent, but Good is a nice result as well. Moving downwards is Fair, then Borderline, Mild, Moderate, Severe. https://www.ofa.org/diseases/hip-dysplasia
If you click on the Menu, under Diseases it gives a bunch of options so you can look up some of the other results.
The only one I would be concerned with is that it looks like he is a carrier for PRA (an eye condition that causes blindness). Assuming this is the father of a potential pup, you would want to make sure the mother is clear.

·
Super Moderator
3,827 Posts
See this PF thread: Genetic Conditions - OFA Blue Book: What to Know In Choosing A Puppy or Breeding. It has illustrations of how to interpret.

So, are you thinking about purchasing this 10 y/o male poodle? He's a carrier for PRA-prcd, but a carrier means he has only one gene. A dog would need to inherit two (one from each parent) to develop that eye condition.

Many 10 year old poodles are energetic and playful, my last one was as strong and healthy as young adult poodle. If this one is healthy he may go on to live another 5, 6, or 7 years and be a wonderful pet.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
I'm not looking to buy that dog, he is a listed sire I clicked on as an example. :)