Poodle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My nine week old puppy is an absolute terror when I put him on the grooming table. If I'm not actively feeding him a treat, he's biting at the tools. This is my first poodle and first puppy so I'm brand new to both. This is totally normal right? It's normal that he's wild and bitey and bribing him with treats to "get it done" isn't going to make him more difficult to groom in the long run? I'm trying to do two sessions a day (2-5 mins each because after that he starts to really lose his mind) on the table. Should I be doing more? I just want to make sure I'm doing the right things to make grooming him pleasurable (for both of us!) as he gets older.

·
Premium Member
6,399 Posts
yep normal, though I kept it short like you are and but only gave treats at the end. You need to curb the attacking of the tools go slow, do a little every day until he gets use to it.

·
Registered
327 Posts
This sounds normal.
It's normal that he's wild and bitey and bribing him with treats to "get it done" isn't going to make him more difficult to groom in the long run?
If anything, it’ll make him really, really love grooming! Dogs don’t take bribes like humans—they think a bit differently. When you give treats for something, they are “in the moment”—Oh, I got a snack for that? I’ll do it again! The snack got pulled away for me biting? Okay, I won’t do that! It’s very much like programming a computer. Just make sure you’re rewarding him for non—bitey, non-wild behavior, and you’ll be fine, especially if you keep doing it as frequently as you are. It might take a bit before he stops squirming, though—puppies are feisty!

·
Registered
1,318 Posts