Poodle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,053 Posts
Thanks for posting this stars. I have been working with my vet who does the OFA for me for over 20 years now . He also does most of the show dogs in the Phoenix area as well... WE both know what bad positioning is . But I think that in general most vets do not have a clue. I love the Setter article on studying the hips in a peigree.. Coming from Setter Irish not English :) There is or was an issue. So I find that to be facinating.

·
Registered
1,000 Posts
In addition to hip positioning, I've read and heard breeders say that you don't want to have a bitch's hips x-rayed right before she is in heat; of course, not while pregnant; and not immediately after giving birth due to the effect of hormones.

·
Registered
2,537 Posts
I think that most vets in fact Do know what good hip positioning is. The thing is that mostly techs take the actual films. They need to be taught how to do it well, and the vet needs to Make them redo bad films. I am also a firm believer that one cannot take really good hip films without some type of sedation/anesthesia.
When doing OFA films, we quote the owner for 2 films just in case one film doesnt turn out quite square. We also dont do OFA films with out sedation.

·
Registered
1,008 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
In addition to hip positioning, I've read and heard breeders say that you don't want to have a bitch's hips x-rayed right before she is in heat; of course, not while pregnant; and not immediately after giving birth due to the effect of hormones.
Very true since a bitches hormone level is the same through the cycle if she's pregnant or not. You need to time the hip xrays safely in-between heats. I personally wouldn't send them in until I know for a fact that the bitch doesn't go into a early heat cycle to ensure that you did the most accurate xrays.

·
Registered
109 Posts