Poodle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all! This forum has been so helpful in the months I have been researching our decision to add a poodle to our family.

My husband and I have talked for years about getting a standard poodle, but with medical school, residency, a small starter home, and human babies, the time was not right. Now we are out of the baby phase and settled in a dog-friendly home, so we are starting to look in earnest.

I grew up with dogs and had 1 rescue dog as an adult, but this will be my first time raising a puppy as "the mom," so I know it is a different ballgame! I'm going into this with lots of enthusiasm, but also a healthy dose of humility and looking before I leap!

About us: We are an active family and love camping, hiking, and running (when it isn't a million degrees). We have a 1 acre fenced back yard with a swimming pool, and our suburb north of Houston is very dog-friendly. I am a work-from-home editor and my husband is a physician. We have 4 kids from 3-12 years old and they are pretty easy-going. A dog in our family will have pretty constant companionship, and when we do have to be away, my parents have 8 acres nearby and they can't wait to spoil our pup as they do our children. ?

Naturally, a healthy pup with a great temperament is what we are really looking for, but I must say...mismarks and partis really make my heart go pitter-pat. ? (I met a gorgeous red and cream SPoo earlier this summer, and I can't get her out of my mind!) I know that many of the best breeders stick to solid coat colors for show purposes. If anyone has any advice about reputable breeders working with abstracts/partis, I'd love to hear. ??

I am very appreciative of the expertise on this forum. The misinformation out there is hard to sift through without the guidance of "insiders." So, thank you!

·
Premium Member
4,113 Posts