Poodle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,
I'm new to the forum so please be gentle. I am an experienced dog breeder and have previously bred poodles however I am completely new to cafe au lait poodles. I own both mum and dad who are both cafe au lait colouring and we have just had our first gorgeous litter of puppies which are all chocolate brown. I am finding myself in a dilemma as to how to describe them when I'm selling them, as I don't want to mislead buyers by selling a chocolate puppy that will be a completely different colour in a few years but I also don't want to describe them as cafe au lait if I'm not 100% sure they will clear to that colour. I guess what I'm asking is does both parents being cafe au lait guarantee the puppies will change colour? (I have tried to research poodle colour genes but just wound up with a headache ?) Also how would you describe them in an ad in a clear and concise way so as not to mislead potential buyers, I have searched for cafe au lait ads to give me an idea of what to say but can't find any, please help thank you x

·
Registered
2,611 Posts
Sorry, we actually have very few breeders on the forum. You mentioned that you're an experienced breeder, so it's unlikely you're working with a mentor to answer your questions.

My first suggestion would be to review websites of breeders specializing in that color, rather than ads, to see how they describe them.

Next, and probably better, would be to look for descriptions in the breed clubs, like the AKC, or Canadian Kennel Club, or the Kennel Club of the UK.

My experience in looking at websites (and there are many I steer clear of after a brief peek at their red flags) is that they either don't mention how many of these colors can change, I think assuming their audience already knows, or they have a color description area where they go into detail about the colors they're breeding without citing any particular pup. HTH

·
Registered