Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!
I’m new to this forum, I hope that I can find the help here that I desperately need.
I should preface all this by saying I am not a breeder. I do not breed dogs, I’m young (in my 20s) and I own one pet quality poodle that I got as a gift from my grandma.

My grandma breeds show poodles, she has some beautiful dogs! I have been learning to groom them (I currently work as an apprentice groomer at a grooming salon). Last week my grandma unexpectedly fell ill and was rushed to the hospital. She is young for a grandma and very active so my family all have high hopes that she will recover! We are all praying for a miracle. Unfortunately she is currently in a coma, the doctors do not know what’s going on. This has been a terrible and unexpected tragedy for me and my family. What makes it especially hard is she currently has one momma poodle with a litter of puppies and one pregnant poodle with puppies due to be born next week. The rest of my family are not dog people and are too busy to raise puppies so I have volunteered to look after both moms and their puppies. I am now also the proud babysitter to 7 poodles of varying ages most with copious ammounts of hair and grooming needs and all used to living the high life - and all are quite despondent as they are missing their favourite person. I’m a bit overwhelmed with all the dogs so I have taken some time off of work to try and adjust. Luckily my boss is good friends with my grandma so she is happy to accommodate. My family wanted to put all my grandma’s dogs in boarding which I know they would hate!

My grandma’s vet has stepped up and will be coaching me through the medical aspect of raising puppies including pregnancy x-ray, deworming, dew claw removal, tail docking, vaccines, etc. She has worked with my grandma for a long time and she’s been absolutely amazing.