Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! Poodle newbie here. I have only had border collies previously, and have developed allergies to dogs. I seem to do okay with poodles,
though, and would be happy to have one-- I've heard that the standard poodle in particular is amazing. My allergy doctor, however, suggests I get a smaller dog so there are less allergens in general in the house. I am wary of getting a miniature-- I really want the temperament of a standard. So I am interested in getting a moyen, which, if I understand correctly, is bred from spoos, so retain the standard temperament? I'm looking at Karbit Poodles and wonder, for those of you who have one, how do you like them?

Also, for those of you who minis, do you think their temperament really is much different from moyens/kleins? The size difference between the two doesn't matter to me, just potential differences in temperament. As someone who adores border collies, I feel the spoo is actually quite similar, but I'm not sure about the mini. Thanks for any thoughts you can share about this!

Bailey

·
Registered
586 Posts
You could also look for a smaller standard, quite a number of members here have them. I have a mini, i only had retrievers before and he is definitely not neurotic like my lab. He is super smart and eager to learn. I also used to own a husky and damn they are stubborn. In terms of activities, I heard mini’s are the most active of the poodle family. My mini is definitely hardy but also comes with an off switch. I don’t do dog sports due to availability but I don’t tnink you can go wrong with a mini or a standard. Moyen are harder to find and it seems only karbit poodles are the only legit moyen breeder.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for your responses! I don't think I have a good understanding of the mini-- maybe visiting some local breeders and meeting their dogs would be helpful.