Poodle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm kindof scared, but I may have to fly Paris to her stud when she comes into season. If I drove it would be a 26 hour drive, and there is no way! The stud owner ships puppies to new owners often so she isn't worried at all.
What do you do? Have you shipped? What airline to choose?

·
Registered
1,711 Posts
It kinda worries me, I don't think I personally could trust anyone enough to
ship them my dog, I would be so worried about her. :(

I've never shipped anything live before, so I am not good with advice
in that area. :p

The owners of the stud doesn't ship out cooled semen do they?
That could be another option...*shrug*

·
Registered
627 Posts
Having worked for an airline and seen the raging incompetence of the ground crews... No way. Never. I know it's common in the industry but I've seen the noise, the chaos, extreme temperatures, the careless way the ground crews handle the "cargo". Most of the airlines are lucky to get a ground employee with a pulse, much less one without a criminal record. I'm not sure what their actual safety records are regarding live cargo. I'm sure it's not that bad. I guess I mostly worry about the psychological trauma. It's like anything I guess. The more you know... I'm sure if I spent enough time at pig farms, I might become a vegetarian. Sometimes ignorance is nice...

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
They prefer to have a natural breeding to AI, IF we do shipping It will be a direct flight with no layovers, no plane changes and I would be there to see her loaded. They would be there to see her unloaded.

I have talked to several of the owners of puppies shipped to them from this family and they say it's a very reputable breeder. They have a highly respected training school for hunting poodles.

·
Registered
2,064 Posts