Poodle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,314 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to get a harness for while Darcy is very small. I know it can encourage pulling, but I feel it's safer for him to be in a harness as we are getting him used to a downtown environment than a collar.

Anyway, any harness recommendations out there? He was 3.6 pounds at his vet visit last week-end, so he's currently pretty small! Does anyone have any experience with the puppia harness? I saw them in a store near here and they looked pretty good, although expensive for something he will grow out of.

·
Registered
2,320 Posts

·
Registered
1,306 Posts
HALTI also makes a nice harness that discourages pulling. I like harnesses on certain dogs. They are safe but they can ruin a coat if you are trying to be mat-free.

·
Registered
114 Posts
I have no experience with a pup the size of Darcy but we do use a harness on our standard. He is very strong and tends to pull with a collar but with this harness he does not. The leash connects in the front in the middle of his chest. If he does bolt while on the leash he spins around and will end up facing you. We did not want to use pinch collars or anything that went around his muzzle. It has two quick release snaps but you only need to disconnect one to get it on and off, its very easy. This is not a training harness it just keeps them from pulling. No matting the hair either.

Premier Easy Walk Dog Harness
Designed to gently discourage your dog from pulling while walking on a leash

Easy Walk Harness Product Description - Premier Pet

PS
for some reason the links to PetSmart do not work but they do carry them

·
Registered
2,314 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I like harnesses on certain dogs. They are safe but they can ruin a coat if you are trying to be mat-free.
That's a good point. I do need to be careful of his coat, as we are hoping to show him if he continues to look good. He would only wear it outside though.