Poodle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello, everyone! Thanks again to those of you who commented on my member introduction. Today completes two weeks with our 11 week old pup, August, and he’s just delightful. One challenge he has is that he overheats something awful, I assume because his coat is so dark. If it’s really hot, he won’t even go outside, poor guy, so he needs a haircut! I’d like to start grooming him on my own. I’m sorry if people have talked about this before, (I’m not good at searching the forum yet.) but is there a consensus about what are the best clippers, blades, brushes, etc. to have in one’s arsenal for grooming at home? The choices are overwhelming!

If there’s a link to another discussion that would answer this question, I’d be great with that. Not trying to reinvent the wheel.

Thanks!

Here’s my boy pretending to be a topiary:

Attachments

·
Registered
739 Posts
He is darling!
I have an Andis clipper, I think it is called the ultra edge. I also use the Andis 10, 4, and 30 blades along with Whall and Andis clipper combs. You also might want a high-velocity dryer if you do not have one already.
If you do not already own one get a steel-toothed comb, I think there are called greyhound combs, and a good slicker brush.
Try looking up in the search function groom tools suggestions I think there are a few threads that named something like that.

·
Premium Member
23,233 Posts
I also use an Andis for heavy shave downs (in order here too these days). I try to leave a bit of length by using a 3 blade.

·
Registered
7 Posts
I use an Andis ProClip Ultra Edge 2 speed with Buttercut Blades #10. Love these blades very smooth. I also use a metal comb you can get at your favorite store or amazon Pettom Pet Steel Grooming Tool Poodle Finishing Butter Comb, 7 1/2-inch L.