Poodle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Did any of you go to Grooming School, take classes, or are you individually self-taught?? Those of you that do other dogs besides your own (as a profession), where did YOU learn??

·
Registered
1,972 Posts
I'm seriously thinking about becoming a professional groomer. The problem is I live in a small town, in a sparsley populated area. I haven't been able to find any school that's not hours away and most are very expensive. I've heard mixed things about school vs apprenticeship, but I haven't found a groomer willing to do that either. Right now I'm in college and I'm at least going to finish my basics and then hopefull move to South Texas, where there will be more opportunities for everything.

I groom my own Maltese and my mom's Schnauzer mix and I'm pretty much self taught. I read tons of stuff on the internet and recently joined a grooming forum. I know there are books and DVDs out there too. I've heard great things about Jodi Murphy's DVDs. I just jumped in. I was always careful not to hurt the dogs, but I wasn't focused on what they looked like. It's just hair, it grows back and I've always done better than the last time.

·
Registered
2,645 Posts
When I can afford the class, I'm going to have to do a correspondance course. I want to start my own business one day and want that behind me so that I know how to groom all breeds. Other than that I bought a book and read online. I also watched some youtube videos but I am by far good at what I do.

·
Registered
5,345 Posts
I paid $2500 US dollars for my class, it included all my training and supplies. After getting a job two days later after I graduated I paid off my loan and lived comfortable off my income in.. 7-8 months?

·
Registered
1,972 Posts