Poodle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can someone please tell me what tests a toy poodle should have before he should be bred? And what kind of general pricing each test comes with?

I am new to breeding and want to do it the responsible way.
I have quite a long time to get these tests done,
Thanks!
:)

(PS I would ask a vet but I don't have a trusted vet, just a meh vet. and we are in between. I like to go to vet offices with much knowledge before agreeing to anything)

·
Registered
575 Posts
can you not talk to your breeder where you got your dog? That would be the first stop :) A reputable breeder would make sure that you knew what you were doing before breeding a pup you acquired from them IF you bought on an open registration and not a spay neuter contract.

·
Registered
2,155 Posts
I would suggest you become a member of a poodle club and get involved with a breed very actively. Meet A LOT of show breeders and get a mentor who will help you make a correct start. There are many issues one have to consider before starting "breeding" beside health tests !!!!

Best of luck

PS: If your breeder did not do any tests - than definitely do extra homework and definitely do not take her as a mentor

PPS: You might want to read some of this : http://www.poodleclubofamerica.org/health.htm

·
Registered
1,306 Posts
Do your homework AND follow your instincts. Some tests don't count till they are 24 mos old. Like my girl with the crooked tooth & curved tail, I DID do 3 of her tests at 12 mos but waited till age 24 mos to do hip xrays an d skin punch biopsy (the 2 costliest). I ended up not proceeding because I felt in my heart she wasn't ideal breeding stock. PS: she did have 2 litters - one at 4 yrs and she has one SUPRISE oops litter now. My other female had all tests done last year at 24 mos and is ready to go next heat cycle

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #5