Poodle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,545 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Many of you know that I do not currently own a poodle. I am planning on getting one within a year or so. I was a hairdresser for over 20 years. (I am now a stay-at-home Mom, and occasionally work from home, with a home based album design/graphics business.) Anyhow, I plan on doing much of the grooming myself. I figure this is something I can probably learn to do well on my pet, but I have a lot to learn.

I was reading in another thread that the plastic attachments on the clippers just kind of push the hair around? I have a pair of Andis clippers with plastic attachments that I used as a hairdresser. Do you buy different blades in different sizes for dog grooming? I am completely new to this and have no idea what to do for clippers.

I figure I will need a good portable table and arm, a good dryer, brushes, shampoo and conditioner. I also read in another thread about using car chamois ( a brand was listed) to dry the dog after the bath.

Any suggestions or information would be greatly appreciated as I try to prepare to make the transition from doing people hair to doggie hair!

Thanks!:)

·
Registered
1,648 Posts
you use different blades for grooming dogs nd/or the combes (metal ones)

highly recommend the Kalstone book on grooming poodles

·
Registered
1,560 Posts
I agree with the above post- different blades, METAL combs (I learned my lesson with the plastic combs... lol), and Shirlee Kalstone is the way to go! You will learn just about everything you need from that book. Also you have to keep up with frequent brushing and have the right tools for that. But if you know your way around a pair of scissors, I figure you'll be just fine grooming at home. ;)

·
Registered
1,306 Posts