Poodle Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,077 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi there

i'm new to the world of spoos and i'm never going away.

i do have a few questions about dog foods though. i have 4 dogs (2 adult cairn terriers, an 8 mo old lab x and then temperance, my spoo who is 4.5 mos).

i've had her on several feeds since she's been with me. i started her on wellness puppy, then moved to natural balance and now we are doing california naturals.

i've taken her off the puppy food because i don't want her to get too much protein (albeit i want her to have quality protein).

my concern are her kidneys since research has shown spoos to have potential kidney issues and i'm terrified of that (i had a cat die of renal failure and it was so horrible).

so reading has shown wellness to have not been good for some dogs w/ kidney health.

anyway, long winded story short, what are you feeding your spoo and why?

btw, she is a picky eater. we tried the chicken soup for pet lovers soul and she spit it out and same with innova. ugh.

my others aren't picky and so what i am feeding my temperance is what the others eat. heh. spoiled much?

·
Registered
4,481 Posts
For my four dogs they have been on several......The only kibble they all liked was Blue Buffalo - no real excitement from any of them but they ate it:). Not grain free but good quality.

Chicken Soup for the Soul and TOTW, the same as yours, they did not like it at all.

Right now we are doing raw. Day 2 and its going great - :) Crossing fingers. I was so worried my stomach couldn't handle it and I was not sure about the bacteria in regards to the humans but they eat outside and it's less clean up and so far has cut the feeding time in half. And there is excitement when eating lol!!

·
Registered
918 Posts