Poodle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
533 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m looking at going to a dog show back in my home town. I can stay with my Dad and have a quick visit with him. Frontier has the best rates but the crate size is only 8inchs high. Will this be a problem if Nova is 12.5 inchs and around 9lbs?

·
Registered
529 Posts
Try searching here on this travel blog:

I hope this resource is helpful. Otherwise, I have no personal experience.

Reactions: Mel

·
Registered
1,528 Posts
I recently flew Misha on American Airlines and their limit for hard sided crates is 9" tall but they allow larger kennels as long as they will collapse under the seat. I still had significant issues with an agent accepting him on the first leg of the trip, but eventually they let me through. On the way back I had no issue, but my mother also came in with me so that may have helped. He is significantly larger than Nova though. I suspect Nova would be fine in a similar situation. I went with Sturdibag as was recommended by people with similar size minis. It fit under the seat fine, as I knew it would.

I would say though... as I was waiting to get baggage after the flight I was approached by a family who spoke about how frustrated they were because their dog wasn't allowed on their flight due to size limits. They said it was a bichon puppy. I think they may have been flying Frontier but I can't say with 100% certainty.

·
Registered
1,528 Posts
Was your sturdibag a medium or large?