Poodle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey!
I didn't say limp or limber tail as I have dealt with this in retrievers and this isn't that... It looks like it, but absolutely no pain, no trouble moving, no heat or swelling.

Angus is 14 weeks.
Just got him from backyard breeder so no info there.

I didn't notice it at first as he was very excited, then very docile with the transitions. No injury, no swimming etc.

His tails drops off halfway down. No feel of any crook, subluxation etc. He *can* carry it high when excited and moving etc. so I'm wondering if it's a birth or early injury? Maybe weak ligaments? Or is this something that occurs in poodles (as I'm new to the breed)?

What do you think?
We don't care a bit, and he's not hurting but I'm always curious!
We joked about splinting it LOL and think it will be fabulous with a big pom!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,546 Posts
It does look a bit weird. I would guess it was injured or affected by poor nutrition or something. My pup has a tendency to hold his tail pointing a little to the right, but not at an odd angle like this, more like it's got a natural curl toward the right. If you run your fingers over it carefully, can you detect any bone or muscle abnormalities with it?

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
No abnormalities. It could be nutritional as he is very underweight. Backyard breeder was putting down one bowl for 11 pups at 14 weeks, so there were significant differences in size. He's only 11 lbs at 14 weeks (Standard)

·
Registered
3,647 Posts