Poodle Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8,202 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As you may remember, poor Maizie does not react well to most flea meds. Comfortis gave her muscle spasms. Frontline did nothing at first and then a couple months later made her itch where it was applied. The Seresto collar made her vomit all the time. She also had a seizure or vertigo episode randomly one day and we still don't know what caused it, but it was around the time I removed the Seresto collar. Unfortunately, we are having a horrible flea problem in CA this year, so I was cautiously willing to try one more thing--Simparica. Well, I am happy to report that she has experienced no negative effects after her first dose. This is what we have them all on now, including our shih Tzu who got sick from Comfortis. It seems to be very well tolerated and it's chewable, which is a plus.

Anyone else have experience with this drug?

·
Premium Member
4,027 Posts
I have no experience with that particular flea medication but it one that my vet recommends, along with Bravecto (which is what we use)

·
Registered
3,530 Posts
I haven't heard of that one but will ask my vet about it when we go for a annual in a few months. Presently we are on Nexgard. My dogs have been on it 5 years with no problem, so Renn is also taking it. However he does not like to chew it. I have no idea why the other dogs love it but not Reni boy, I have to smash it and disguise it. He will eat his heartgard but has to play with it some before he does, the other dogs gobble that down too.

·
Premium Member
22,964 Posts
ZM I hope that good situation with no adverse reaction holds and that you can continue Maizie with it.

·
Registered
8,202 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thank you, I too hope it will work for her as long as the fleas are around! Scooterscout, I had read that article, but once you see your dog suffering from flea bites, biting and scratching 24/7, you get desperate.