Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
2,320 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Mitch had his feet shaved to cut down on tracking in mud, and I just realized how LONG his nails are. I DO NOT like it. I can just make out where his quicks are on most nails and they're pretty long, so I am going to invest in a dremel.
I've read that pedi-paws doesn't work with thick large dog nails, but I have no experience with a dremel and if possible would like to get one designed for dogs.

Any suggestions?

·
Registered
1,546 Posts
I would just go to Menard's or Lowe's or whatever big hardware store you have and get a Dremel (that is the brand name). I have the cordless one now and LOVE it. I had the corded one for years and gave it to my folks for their dogs - it's still going strong and it probably almost 20 years old!

·
Registered
263 Posts
Locket,

I used the pedi-paws on Grace when she was a puppy. We have graduated to the Master Grooming tools grinder model #10011 from Petedge. I love it, it literally takes seconds to do. She is funny about her back feet, so I tie her ears up and smear peanut butter on a saucer. By the time she has had a few licks, I am done!

·
Registered
578 Posts
I use a cordless Dremel Mini Mite. It's at least 5 years old so they may not sell that exact model anymore. I'm sure there is newer and better ones available. I got mine at Home Depot.

·
Registered
2,053 Posts
I have been snooping for one of these... All of my dogs nails bleed when I cut them, and it horrifies me.. So I have a cordless one that works.. But not like I would like it too. So the Dremel sounds like the name of the game then? Do they all have to use the sanding disk or do any of them have actual head like a Dremel itself What is best?

·
Registered
578 Posts