Poodle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Excuse my ignorance...I am new to poodles, but I was wondering what combs are necessary for. I have always used a slicker and haven't found the need for anything else. I just ordered a Les Poochs slicker ( got a deal on ebay) and am looking forward to trying that. Is there anything else I am missing out on that could make my grooming experiences better? What do I REALLY need? Also, has anyone ever tried a shampoo and conditioner in one to save a step when bathing? Thanks in advance! You guys ahve been a great help to me! :)

·
Registered
5,345 Posts
Unless you're parting the hair and brushing completely down to the skin, the slicker isn't really getting all the hair. I'll take a slicker over my puppy to part the strands after a back and fluff it up, then I'll take a comb over him to get ALL the way down to the skin.

We get customers at my work (I'm a groomer) that claim they brush their dog, well, that may be, but they're only taking a slicker over the top of the hair and the dog will be matted solid at the skin. If they had a comb, that would have been prevented.

·
Registered
86 Posts
How long do you keep your dogs coat?
If it's short you may not need a comb. But a comb is a nice idea to "find mats" and to brush the ears, tail, and topknot with, even if you keep everything short.

It is possible a slicker only would work for you but 99% of the time when my clients tell me they don't need a comb, that their dogs aren't matted, and they brush everyday,
their dog IS matted. I don't see how they don't notice the mats, maybe they are lying who knows, but to a trained professional spotting and feeling them is easy :)

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks

OK, Thanks so much!! Maybe he doesn't get matted yet because he still has his puppy coat? I wash and blow him every week too. I will be getting a comb soon- THANKS!!

·
Registered
578 Posts