Poodle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,546 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all -

You all know I am hoping to get a Miniature Poodle next year. I have two Italian Greyhounds and a Whippet that I run in agility (I have also shown in conformation, obedience, rally and lure coursing over the last 15 years). So, while I am not new to dogs, I am new to dogs with hair! I have been reading a LOT on Poodle and grooming forums (and I bought Shirlee Kalstone's book - it's awesome!) trying to learn as much as I can. I am a veterinary technician and when I was in school (many moons ago!) I took a couple grooming classes. I have been making a list of equipment that I will need and thought I would run it by you all for recommendations.

1. Andis Ulta Edge 2 speed clippers
2. Blades (not sure on sizes? 30, 10, toe blade? - I am hoping to scissor the body)
3. Blade oil, wash and Kool Lube
4. Shears - curved and straight - I have large hands - can you recommend length/brand for me?
5. Pin Brush (Chris Christensen) and comb (fine/course)
6. Dryer - not sure on this one - suggestions welcome!
7. Shampoo and Conditioner (I love CC on my guys, so plan on using his stuff on the Poo too) and the Ice on Ice - love it!
8. Grooming table - I have a ring side table that might work, but will probably have to get a regular size table (go figure - I just gave my big table away to a friend with a SPoo that lost her's in a flood).

Any suggestions to add??

Thanks!
Marsha

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
My only suggestion is to be sure you get a powerful dryer. I was new to Standard Poodles and bought the Metro forced air quick draw dryer. It blows at 165 mph but it's still not enough to get a good straight coat. It does work well on Toy and miniature Poo's but its just okay on my Standards. It takes atleast a hour to dry a adult coat and I know it could be straighter.

Otherwise it sounds like you got a good list!

·
Registered
3,307 Posts