Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone have any tips on how to be more enthusiastic with praise and exciting when training? Any good videos breaking it down for those who it doesn't come naturally to? Maybe something scientific about praise, tone of voice dogs like, and how to make things exciting?

One of my strengths as a trainer, I think, is I am not inclined towards hysterics, shrill voice, or babytalk -which mean i am usually pretry easy for a dof to understand. But I think it backfires on me when it comes to seeming "fun" for Annie. Annie is very 'fun' motivated, with, fun being way better than food, but i am pretty bad at capturing that. She did a difficult recall today off leash, i was pleased, and my response was a calm "good", a shoved piece of turkey, and a min or so later, I remembered I was supposed to be excited...

Especially on a high pain day, enthusiasm and praise is really not something I am good at, and I think I need a remedial course and some deliberate practice. Annie loves when my mom does squeaky voiced play with her, or other people. Me, when I try, she just looks confused.

Registered
Off the cuff idea...Find one of those jokes or videos that cause you to break out in laughter periodically after. I do modulate my voice to a higher pitch, but I think my boys respond best when I'm just laughing. That keeps me pretty loose too 馃ぁ

Registered
I find singing nursery rhymes puts me into the right place, especially if I set silly rhymes about the dogs to the tunes. But I don't think I could overcome the stress of severe pain to be silly and giggly - perhaps the shepherd's calm "That'll do" is more than sufficient reward for Annie as long as it comes from you.

Premium Member