Poodle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok well i have an 8 month old spoo and he has not been to a groomer much, i have just been doing a simple and easy cut. Well i met a new friend who happens to be a old groomer who just does it on the sides now. I am still learning alot about the breed so im not sure if what she did today is normal or not, personally i thought it was mean and i didnt really like it. But she was noticing that the insides of his ears had alot of fur in there and she said it has to be removed to help keep infections and stuff away, well i can understand that so she came over today and im thinking i'll hold him as she cuts it out....nope.... she brought a special kind of tweezers and was pulling chunks of hair out of his ears. At first he didnt seem to mind that much but after a few mon he was really fighting so i told her to stop. So basically im just woundering if its normal to pull the hair out or should it be done another way? I dont want my baby boy being hurt. Thanks

·
Registered
5,345 Posts
It's normaly to pluck ear hair, the more they get it done the more the learn to tolerate it. I lay my puppy across my lap, get him calm and chill, flip his ear open, keep him calm, then take a little out at a time, not even looking. I keep watching tv or whatever, pet him more, take a little out. Though I don't have a huge bush in his ears anymore, I plucked that out the first week I had him. He didn't like it, but I want to keep his ear canals clear.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thank you guys, i was just a bit worried lol i dont want to cause him any pain if i can help it.:)

·
Registered
1,560 Posts