Poodle Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
319 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My name is Cindy - I'm 26 and probably about 2 years away from being a poodle owner. I know that is a while away - but it is never too early to learn and I am sure I will have an obnoxious amount of questions! My concern is that I am going to be a working poodle mom (unless that Powerball ticket comes through haha) and was wondering if anyone had used a dog walking/and or doggie day care service and the general feeling about such things. I grew up with dogs (my mom rescues Greyounds - they're GREYT!) but she stayed home to raise us and the dogs were rarely left by themselves so the 8 hour workday absence is something I have no experience in. My mom doesn't believe in leaving dogs home alone - and while I agree that it isn't ideal, I also respectfully feel working from home isn't always a realistic option.

I am a complete poodle newbie and really appreciate all the advice I have seen on this forum. It is a wonderful resource - which I'm sure I'll keep using! I would love to train my dog as a CGC, and do obediance work with my future poodle gentleman or lady.

·
Premium Member
2,956 Posts
Welcome to the forum, Cindy! Hope you learn lots of good stuff for when your very own poodle comes home!!

As far as dog walkers/daycare, I don't have experience with these as I've never needed them (yet). Both my husband and I work full time, but we're both also able to come home for a lunch hour every day. My lunch hour is from noon until 1 and his is from 12:30 until 1:30, so the dogs have us at home for almost 1 1/2 hours every weekday. It only takes us about 7 - 10 minutes drive-time to & from work.