Poodle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
Let me start by saying I'm a total newbie and this is my first poodle!

I just took my 4 1/2 month old standard to the groomers (for his 2nd cut) and she suggested a #4 trim all over. While his coat feels and looks like crushed velvet (chocolate brown), he looks scrawny and gangly. His legs especially look scrawny and boney - not very dignified. Is this a normal cut for a puppy? I can understand going short for the summer but I think I would have preferred longer fur on his legs and face. His face/head looks scrawny to. Maybe I'm just not used to it but he just doesn't look like any poodle pictures I've seen. I asked the groomer about leaving his face longer and she said it would look funny.

I saw the post about Vega's lamb trim and it looks beautiful. My puppy's fur is not as fluffy - maybe because I like to let him air dry - his fur looks crimped when it gets long.

Anyway, so does it sound like my groomer knows what she's doing or should I find someone else?

Thanks for your insight!

·
Registered
546 Posts
Amber- welcome to the forum and congrats on your new baby!

I had the exact same issue as you a few weeks ago... I was mortified by what they did to my Snoops! I think my thread is still floating around in the "grooming" section if you want to read it, many people had some great grooming advice and tips... :)

On a positive note, their hair really truly does grow back quickly! I didn't believe it myself but it's true. Snoops is quickly getting back to his "teddy bear" status... Hooray!

·
Registered
1,403 Posts
I'm glad you like Vega's trim I work in a dog grooming salon and I did it myself!

While a 3 and 4 blade is common to use on a poodle especially for shorter, easier to manage cuts I always ask the owner if they are SURE they do not want their pups coat fluffy.