Poodle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,403 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been working in a grooming shop for about two years, mostly as a bather/dryer so im very familiar with drying the coat properly and making sure not to damage the coat, etc...

What i'm not familiar with are all the different grooming styles out there and we don't see too many standards. The ones we do see are usually so matted that a brushout is useless and they have to be shaved down anyway just because of how damaged the coat would be even after all the brushing.

I'm about to get a standard of my own and my manager also wants to train me as a groomer so i'm looking forward to have my own dog to work with so that I can become more familiar with grooming the standard poodle.

I know i want to keep mine in a long coat, he will be indoors for the most part and out of the heat. I'll be able to keep his coat in good shape and free of matts tangles but I guess im wondering what the styles are called so that i can look them up and get a better idea of what I want. Or even photos of the standards you have keeping a long coat.

·
Registered
1,165 Posts
A good book to have is Shirley Kalstones Poodle grooming book. It is a wonderful tool.

What do you mean by long coat?

Here are a few websites showing different styles of clips.
http://www.groomers.net/discus/messages/126/2008.html?1236317225
http://www.caninereference.com/caninereference/CanineReference.nsf/lkakcAlpha/9180FB942ADB920D85256E71006E9642

you can also just Google or Dogpile "Poodle Clips/cuts"

Haha I have to laugh at saying the dog will stay indoors, its hard to keep a Standard inside. I though the same thing but just two days after grooming my standard, Tuesday, she is filthy from playing outside! :lol:

·
Registered
1,403 Posts
Discussion Starter #3