Poodle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody! I'm new to the poodle world, or shall I say that I may be new. In any case. I've been doing some research in getting a poodle puppy. It's kind of been a roller coaster ride in deciding how much to spend and what color to get. Anyway... I heard from a couple of breeders that the black, red, and apricot colored dogs do not have that great of a temperament and that the blacks have the best temperaments. How true is this? Am I going to be in trouble if I get a brown dog? I mean how bad are we talking here? Is it that compared to most dogs, browns have a normal temperament and blacks have abnormally amazing temperament? :confused: Please help. Any input would be much appreciated. Thank you

·
Registered
163 Posts
Do not puchase a puppy from someone that tries to claim that color will affect a dog's temperament. How the dog is raised, their genetics, and the environment that the animal is in is what will ultimately determine their temperament.

If the parents have two apricot dogs with behavior problems, you might wind up with an apricot puppy with the same issues. This isn't because the animal is apricot though.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's what I figured. Supposedly this was a reputable breeder that told me this. They pretty much told me to only get black and she only breeds black... and she doesn't have a contract. Yea... that's a breeder that I want to trust.
:rolleyes:

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
OMG that is the worst thing I have heard in awhile. Yes, just as Kela said it has nothing to with color..... behavior issues with the parents, genetics, etc is what determines that.

I have a Black Standard male and a Cafe Au Lait Standard male (looks brown). I have had no behavior issues and love both my boys. So does everyone who meets them.

·
Registered
209 Posts