Poodle Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody,

I’m new to poodles, and I’m just wondering if anybody has ever seen a black poodle change color? When we had gotten him he was jet black, now around his face, and back of all 4 paws are turning brown? He has highlights on his back as well. Sorry for the poor pictures he doesn’t like sitting still, lol, he is about 4 months old if that helps any.

·
Registered
415 Posts
If he's a Sheepadoodle, he's not a Poodle, and you have the genetics of an Old English Sheepdog in play as well. OES start out darker on the non-white portions of their body and grey out to the color people are more familiar with as they age. I don't know what color the Poodle part of your mix was, but blue and silver Poodles start out black and blue or silver out as they age. A reddish/brownish tint is also commonplace in many blue Poodles when they are younger.....

Reactions: Rose n Poos

·
Registered
3,003 Posts
Poodle color genetics are a fascinating topic. Results can be unpredictable due to dominant/recessive/fading etc genes. Adding in the "shep" throws in an even wilder card since poodles are what we know best.

To strictly answer your question
I’m just wondering if anybody has ever seen a black poodle change color?
Yes, a black 100% poodle can change color if there are fading genes in the mix. If the face is shaved at a very young age and you see this light face, the pup is a silver

and will end up anywhere in the silver range, from platinum to a dark silver, possibly with shading

to

If the face remains darker but the poodle seems to be somewhat brownish in certain lighting, and the coat itself starts taking on a charcoal sort of cast when the pup is considerably older, then the pup might be a blue

You can investigate whether running a DNA color panel will give you answers in a cross.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5