Poodle Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this is a question that’s been asked many times but I always like fresh input and ideas.

Joey has been wearing a soft harness when we are out and about. It works well and it is very safe for his neck and doesn’t affect his gait so for the most part, it’s great. This just may be me as I’m not an expert trainer by a long stretch but I feel I cannot communicate in the same way as I can with a collar. Things are going fairly well and so far, Joey isn’t a puller but he is noticing other things more and the few times I’ve had to move him toward me I feel like the body resists more in a harness than I collar. I’m training and all of that so my question really isn’t about how to train to walk. Joey is pretty responsive to my voice but I’m guessing as we enter the teen phase we will have challenges, like most dog owners do. We still have a big world to train and navigate in. 😊

I notice it’s harder to communicate in a harness with Bobby too although we don’t use a harness for everyday outings anymore for that reason. It seems to me that one can communicate through the leash much better with a collar. Bobby understands the subtleness of the tiniest leash movements whereas with a harness I have to verbalize much more and his pulling desire begins to kick in.
He walks excellently in his martingale.

So…..my question. I have never had a little dog and I know it’s important to protect their fragile necks which is why we use the harness with Joey. I really love martingales. Is a martingale ever appropriate for a mini or should he always wear a harness? Thank you!

·
Registered
2,028 Posts
If a car backfires nearby and Normie startle jerks, I don't want his neck injured. So I'd never walk him with any collar. But that's just me.