Poodle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to try and do Poppy's face, feet and tail between taking her to the groomer. What clippers would you recommend for just FFT. I have no experience grooming, but I do dremmel her nails every week.

thanks

·
Registered
109 Posts
I really like my Wahl Chromado cordless for FFT. It has an adjustable blade 9,10,15,30,40 so you can simply change the length when switching to another area. I also use it on the #10 length for sani-area. Although I always check the blade for heat, it never gets too hot to burn the poodles.
I have a Andis one speed to use longer blades for body.

·
Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the info. Should have included Poppy is a standard. Any more recommendations?

·
Registered
187 Posts
I use my Laube Speed Feed for all my FFT work. It has the adjustable blade settings like the ones described above. It comes with two battery packs and a charger (the quick charge option means you can use the clippers continously without losing battery power). I have never used the Wahl version, but I talked to a couple groomers who had used both and they said they preferred the Laube.

They run about $110-$130 and the blade sets can be replaced for about $20. Some sharpeners can sharpen this blade set, but some will just recommend you buy a new blade set when the old gets dull.

·
Registered
288 Posts
I have the cordless Wahl Arco (in pink!) for FF&T, and love it! I've heard really good things about the cordless Wahl Chromado, but haven't tried it. I didn't like the Laube SpeedFeed at all, and gave it away.

·
Registered
187 Posts
I have the cordless Wahl Arco (in pink!) for FF&T, and love it! I've heard really good things about the cordless Wahl Chromado, but haven't tried it. I didn't like the Laube SpeedFeed at all, and gave it away.
What didn't you like about the Speed Feed? I'm just curious, because I can't find a single complaint with mine.

·